Monday Memories

February 27, 2012 at 11:00 pm 1 comment

20120227-230026.jpg

In June of 2006 Matt and I attended our first PKD Convention in December just three short months after we learned Gabe and Max had ARPKD. To say the least it was a very overwhelming experience. But we are so thankful we went. We met many wonderful moms and children with ARPKD and also the most amazing doctors!!!

The thing I remember the most about the weekend was the first morning we went down to the breakfast buffet and sat at the table next to Julia Roberts (the other Julia Roberts – the really important one in my life) http://www.kidneysandeyes.com. As we sat there I looked over at her table and saw this carrying case she had full of medications and I thought to myself wow her kids must be so much more severe than our boys. It was full of bottles and syringes and all kinds of stuff. Now on the spectrum of things yes they do have a different mutation then we do. But here we are six years later and the picture above (which I hope comes through) is all of the bottles of medications the boys are currently taking. Three of the bottles are for Max and six are for Gabe. Max takes 5 pills a day and Gabe takes 9 pills a day. Wow!!!!! And the organization of all of these medications is to say the least slightly overwhelming.

So for my Monday Memories I wanted to post my memory of Julia and that weekend in June so long ago. And how grateful I am to have her in my life for so many reasons. First and foremost to be my friend, but also my mentor and teacher with this disease. And especially my go to person when Dr Google doesn’t always have the right answers. Because I know Julia always will. Thanks for everything, Julia!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Things to be thankful for In search of a kidney

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Julia Roberts  |  March 2, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    Ahh…the good ole’ days, huh?

    It’s been a journey hasn’t it? The med count hasn’t changed but the meds have.

    I’m the lucky one to know you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

