Me

November 23, 2011 at 7:29 am 1 comment

Last Friday a friend of mine invited me over for lunch with herself and three other women. We all have children in the same school district. I am friendly with the woman whose house we went to and also one of the other women that was the there. And I know the other two. Before I had kids and was just working I often felt like I didn’t have a lot to contribute to an adult conversation since I spent my days with kids at work. Then when I had Max and then Nate I still felt that way but could often just talk about them. Plus when I was with other moms it was easy to talk about our kids. But last Friday I felt lost at the lunch table. I again felt like I didn’t have a lot to contribute to the conversation. I only wanted to talk about ARPKD and all of the medical stuff going on with Gabe.

I often feel different than other moms around here. I like to volunteer with the PTA and in the boys classrooms just like all of the other moms. But I feel I cannot relate to these moms I see on a regular basis. I cannot relate to their complaints about every day things but also cannot relate to their lives in general. Max received an amazing report card today. And yes, I am so proud of him and know he worked hard to achieve it. But I can’t let myself just be excited about that. In the back of my mind is all the worry about all of the medical stuff going on.

I admit that I have a very hard time staying in the present and often worry about the future. But right now so much is going on in the present with Gabe that I don’t even have time to necessarily worry about the future. Which brings me back to the fact that I feel like I don’t have anything to contribute to any type of conversation other than when someone asks me how Gabe is doing and really wants to hear the answer.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Bad Blogger Frustrated

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Julia Cowan Roberts  |  November 29, 2011 at 7:34 am

    Of course you know I can relate to this and I had to find a way to break out of the arpkd-only talk, but I finally did and you will too. I think you can always find some commonalities with other moms…and I think you can also weave your life into conversations so you feel like you are a part of the group.

    But you know what? In some ways, you’ll always feel like that – a little bit on the outside looking in – but maybe you’ll be able to make peace with it a little bit better as time goes on.

    Also? Working on Gabe’s issues has been your life! Talk about it! And if you can’t with them, call me!

    Love you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

