To fight or not the fight

October 3, 2011 at 8:51 pm Leave a comment

That is the question!! So here is my dilemma. We are having a problem with the bus for public school. In the mornings it is not as bad as in the afternoons. We live a mile from school but it takes them 20 minutes to get there. In the afternoon Gabe sits in the gym waiting for his bus for 20 minutes because it is the last bus to arrive and by the time they load everyone on that is how long he has to wait. So he waits for 20 minutes and is on the bus for 20 more minutes and often comes home wet.

Here’s my dilemma. Do I fight the system and have it added to Gabe’s 504 that he needs limited time travel on the bus and needs to be the last one picked up in the morning and the first one dropped off in the afternoon? Or do I just drive him both ways. My concerns are that I want him to be like all of the other kids and ride the bus like a normal elementary school kid!!! But I don’t want him or anyone else to look at him in a different way if he is the last one picked up and the first one dropped off. On the other hand I’m not sure I should fight this one and should save it for a bigger issue that will most likely come up in the future. But I’m not sure I want to be tied to driving and picking up every day!!! But of course I am going to do what is best for Gabe.

Of course this whole thing makes me sad for Gabe. Sad that he is wet when he gets home. Sad that I even have to worry about these things. Sad that I have to fight for everything!!! Sad that he and Max have this disease!!

And… I’ve been a really bad blogger! I am going to try to get better. I have a lot to blog about!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

One of many 2011 Walk for PKD

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

