The Nerve

February 16, 2011 at 4:15 pm 3 comments

I had posted previously that Max was having headaches and my pediatrician wanted us to go to a neurologist. I called four different ones and two did not take our insurance, one could not see us until the middle of March, and the last one had an appointment for today at 10:30. Max woke up on Monday with the croup and today his cough sounded not so great but I figured we should keep the appointment since we are leaving town on Saturday and I could not get another one until the middle of March. We arrived at 10:25 and the receptionist handed me four pages of paperwork. I realized I should have asked on the phone if I could fill out the paperwork beforehand but this really irritates me for so many reasons. I think paper should be eliminated from all doctors’ offices.  The waste of my time and paper is ridiculous but that is a whole other story. So when I turned in the four pages at 10:40 I asked how the doctor was running and she said he wasn’t even there yet. HUH???? Not even there yet. So why didn’t she call me before I even got there to tell me this? I looked at the schedule and saw that one patient before me was supposed to have gone at 9:30 and one at 10.  I sat down and waited. The doctor came in at 11 and took the first patient which lasted 50 minutes. While waiting I asked the other patient’s mom if she always waited and she said yes… every time and usually for almost 2 hours.  Then the 12 o’clock patient and her mother came in and they said they always wait and he never shows up before 11 even if you have the 9:30 appointment time.  Really???? So at 12:10 I went to the receptionist and said I had to leave at 12:45 to get my other son from school. She said the initial appointments were at least one hour so obviously I did not have time to wait and he was going to be longer with the patient he was with. I then asked for my copay back and she called the doctor to tell him I was leaving.  He came out and asked me what was wrong. I told him that I had two children with polycystic kidney disease and spent a lot of time at doctors and never did I have to wait 2 hours to see a doctor. I said I was very frustrated that I wasn’t called in the morning to say he was running so late. He said his morning was hectic and I said every parent in there complained he always ran 2 hours late.  I told him he was adding unnecessary stress to my life.  He didn’t even seem remorseful.

The nerve of some doctors. I told Max afterwards that our time was more important than waiting 2 hours to see any doctor. I understand if emergencies happen but that was not this situation. I want Max to know he can question doctors and does not have to wait 2 hours to see a doctor and that we should stand up for ourselves. I did say doctors do go to school for a very long time to become doctors and most are really good and we need to respect them but when I feel like they are not respecting me then I need to stand up for that. Their time is definitely not any more valuable then mine. It kills me when doctors are late but then say they will charge you if you are late for an appointment. I wish I could charge them for every minute they keep me waiting. And to top it off I took off work this morning to take Max to this appointment.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Kindergarten Bureaucracy

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bob  |  February 17, 2011 at 7:04 am

    Good for you, Michele! It amazes me how many people put up with this sort of treatment from the medical professionals. There is a local medical group near us that is notorious for running late all the time – yet the patients keep coming back. Why? Jeanne and I have little patience for doctors who are chronically late. Like you say, emergencies happen, and when they do, I can accept the inconvenience. But, when things are always backed up, that is just being disrespectful.

    Reply
  • 2. megsun13  |  October 3, 2011 at 10:54 am

    Hi–My daughter was just diagnosed with ARPKD a few months ago, she is 14 months now, and thiving…although on BP medicine a few times a day. She is tiny (5%) but very smart and independent. We have a neurologist for her as well, did your appointment bring anything about? Our neurologist told us that there is an elvated risk for childhood aneurisms with a child that has ARPKD. My daughter also has a neural tube defect of the lower spine…which compounds her bladder function and further detiorates her kidney function. It’s just somewhat comforting to read a blog about an older child that has had some of the same hurdles my daughter has/will have.

    Reply
    • 3. threepeas  |  October 3, 2011 at 8:45 pm

      Hi. I’m glad you wrote. Feel free to email me at michelehopekarl@gmail.com so we can talk more. I actually had not heard about the aneurisms with ARPKD, only with ADPKD. I might be wrong but am pretty sure they are not a symptom with the recessive form. What is a neural tube defect? Do you have other children?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

