Monday Memories

October 25, 2010 at 1:48 pm Leave a comment

It seems that I can only write every once in a while on a Monday. I cannot believe it is practically November. Where has this year gone? I just spent the last hour at the Quest Lab so they could do blood work on Gabe. I wouldn’t have minded waiting so much if it was because there were people in front of me. But the woman helping us did not completely know what she was doing and it took her 15 minutes to enter in all of the information into the computer. And then she erased it all!!! By this time the anticipation of the blood draw was killing Gabe and he was carrying on and crying and almost screaming. Then when we finally got back there for the blood draw he really was screaming. I had put the numbing cream on but he was so upset emotionally that it didn’t even matter. And I wanted to cry right there with him.

 

The picture I posted here was when Gabe was almost 3 weeks old and almost coming home from the NICU. He was so tiny here. And so naive. This was after the big scare but before any of the other medical stuff would begin. He was no longer on oxygen, his blood pressure wasn’t high yet, and really he was as “healthy” as he could be at that point after having a traumatic entrance into the world and spending the first 3 weeks in the NICU. Plus having ARPKD! The 3 weeks prior had been the most stressful in my life, but I have to say the past four years have pretty much topped it with this year being one of the most. I think I look a lot younger there than I do now!!!

But the sweet memory of me holding him there and knowing he was past the worst of it in the NICU and almost coming home to join the rest of us.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Monday Memories Monday Memories

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

