Questions

August 21, 2010 at 9:10 pm 1 comment

Max has been asking so many questions lately about his kidneys. Then the other day he asked me when I thought Gabe would really get it about having ARPKD. I thought it was an interesting question. We talked about how Gabe has “had” ARPKD his whole life and it is all he knows and how Max didn’t know he had it until he was 6. I truly think children who are born with medical conditions and/or disabilities rather than acquiring them later in life accept them better. It still sucks and I wish the boys didn’t have this and I’m sure that is how most people feel when they are disabled but I do think they feel less sorry for themselves if it is all they know. It is just their way of life.  I could be way off base here and obviously don’t totally get it since I am not the one who has to deal with it like they do. But in my experience with the students I work with who are blind and visually impaired it is easier for them than for those who have lost their sight later in life. I am happy we told Max about his kidneys and that we are so open about it. I’m hoping this will hope both boys in the long run accept their disease and not ever feel ashamed of it.  Everybody has something is our motto around here and boy is it true for us!! Everyone around here does have “something”. I wish we were carefree and had nothing but it’s just not the way it is. Like my sister likes to say “it is what it is”………

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Touching Empowering

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Julia Roberts  |  August 25, 2010 at 12:02 am

    Yeah. Truth is always better. I’m glad they know too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

