Inspiring

August 11, 2010 at 5:51 pm Leave a comment

I just came back from the PKD Foundation’s National Convention in San Diego. Wow. How inspiring and how informative.  The sessions were amazing. We started off the day with a parent to parent roundtable that I led. Then the best doctor in the world who is the guru in the field gave a presentation on ARKPD 101. Then another amazing doctor in the field spoke about dialysis and transplantation. After that session we had a working lunch session with a renal dietician that I personally thought was very helpful. Then the best doctor spoke again on the top ten things you should ask your pediatric nephrologist. I wish I lived closer to her because I would love for her to be the boys’ doctor. We finished the sessions up with a psychotherapist speaking on the emotions of having a child with chronic illness. She talked about the emotions for the child and the emotions of being the caregiver.  The day ended with a pizza party for ARPKD families.  Sunday we had a session on CHF and then a Q&A.

Besides learning a lot, which I really did do, it was also so nice to hang out with the families. There were four families there who I have met before and really enjoy being with. And then there were four new families, three of them with babies with ARPKD.  I hope I was helpful to these new families and I also hope they got something out of the sessions. I am grateful for the foundation for having this convention for us and for allowing these amazing doctors in the field to speak to us!!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Religion Interesting Article

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

