Three

July 14, 2010 at 2:58 pm Leave a comment

Last night there was a Cocktails for a Cure party for the PKD Foundation. Three couples came who all lost baby girls to ARPKD at birth.  I had been emailing all of them but had never met them in person.  Even though my ARPKD story has turned out so differently than theirs I could feel some of their pain.  If things had been different I could be them and they could be me.  People around me live their lives with their healthy children and take things for granted and here are these three couples whose lives have changed forever.  I am grateful for my boys and I am grateful that the PKD Foundation has helped bring these families together and bring me to these families. I hope I have helped them in some small way and hope to continue to help families like theirs. I had so many emotions last night and cannot even express what it felt like to meet these people and listen to their stories. I feel honored that they shared their ARPKD stories with me and feel thankful that they were able to come last night. I am grateful that I have helped each of them find the others to have someone who can experience their pain more than I can and hopefully someone to lean on.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Monday Memories Choices

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

