Blood pressure

March 2, 2010 at 10:15 pm Leave a comment

This whole blood pressure thing is frustrating to me. What’s frustrating is that they have high blood pressure to begin with and have to take so many medications to control it. I know part of it is that they are growing which makes it harder to regulate. But we just added a second med to Max’s regimen and Gabe is on three. Max takes one pill twice a day and now the second pill once every other day. And if we switch Gabe to pills then he will take a pill combo which is a combination of two pills but he will take 1/2 a pill twice a day and then the other pill will be a full pill in the morning and a half at night. Confused yet? Because I am. Today I went to pick up the prescriptions and the pharmacy tried to confuse me even more by giving me one of the prescriptions in two bottles because they had filled part last week and the rest today but they were different manufacturers so they were different pills. Huh? I was so confused there and the lady behind the desk was not the friendliest. So I said to her that it is hard enough to have two children taking five different pills and I didn’t need for them to confuse me even more by having one pill be two different colors and I would never know what was what.  I’m even confused writing this and thinking about it. And what is even more frustrating is that I have to take their blood pressure at home to make sure it is under control. It’s a lot of pressure on me to one remember to take it, two to write it down so I don’t forget, and three to actually monitor the numbers to make sure they are what they should be. Of course as usual I will say that in the scheme of things their blood pressure is not crazy high and they have good kidney function so since we have no choice but to have ARPKD in our lives we will take it like it is for now. But I just hope the pills go smoothly for all!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Monday Memories The Walk

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

