Moms like me

February 11, 2010 at 4:52 pm 3 comments

This past weekend I spent the entire weekend with two moms who have children with ARPKD.  It’s amazing how comfortable I feel with them. It’s also amazing how fast these friendships have grown into ones that will last me my lifetime and that I know I can count on. It’s not just that they have children with ARPKD. That’s what brought us all together. But, we all decided that if we had met in other ways we would still be friends.  They just get me. In so many ways.  And I am so grateful and thankful that they are in my life.  Not only can I talk to them as much as I want about the boys’ health but I can also count on their support in my life in other ways.

We also hung out with two other people who do not have children with ARPKD but have turned out to be amazing friends as well. I would not have met them either if not for my boys being diagnosed with ARPKD.  It’s interesting and ironic that because my boys were diagnosed I now have these four new friends who I feel like I have been friends with my whole life.  The only problem is that three of them live out of state, which is a bummer.  But thank goodness for texting and emails!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Middle Monday Memories

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  February 11, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    Wish I was there:)

    Reply
  • 2. Julia  |  February 15, 2010 at 9:43 am

    Love you, too.

    Reply
  • 3. concerned gran  |  February 16, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    You are fortunate to have people that you can talk to about this…over here in Aus there are no support groups and I dont know of another person at all that is going through this. My daughter hates to talk about it at all, she would prefer not to think about it at all, and as such I feel very very cut off.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

