Sad news

January 11, 2010 at 3:33 pm 2 comments

A member of my local chapter of the PKD Foundation passed away over the weekend. He was in his 70’s and had ADPKD and his obituary said he passed away from complications of his PKD. I’m not sure all of the details but he had a transplant a few years back that was rejected and he was back on dialysis. I know he had to have part of his leg amputated a few weeks ago and then had a massive heart attack. It is just so sad to me. I knew him through my chapter and saw him a few times a year. I had recently seen him in September at the walk. He was always in such good spirits and so motivating to the rest of our chapter. This disease can be so very devastating. And to show how devastating it is for his family all three of his children have ADPKD and they do not know yet if any of the grandchildren have it.  The funeral was today and I couldn’t go but I am going to pay my respects on Wednesday night.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hudson Valley Chapter Meeting Random

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. PKD Foundation  |  January 11, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    Our thoughts and condolences are with the family and with the Chapter.

    Reply
  • 2. Julia  |  January 11, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    Oh, Michele I am so sorry to hear this. So very, very sad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

