Downer

October 30, 2009 at 5:38 pm Leave a comment

Today I had a conference for work and one of the teachers I work with drove me there. She was Gabe’s teacher last year and seems like a nice person. She’s about my age, lives in the same city as I do, and is very friendly.  She knows all about the boys’ ARPKD but does not ask a lot of questions about it nor did she donate to the walk.  Today while we were driving there we were talking about families and different things. I asked her about her sister-in-law.  She said she is a very nice person and she likes her a lot but she’s kind of a downer. She then said her sister-in-law has a daughter with some kind of disease and has a g-tube. Then she said her sister-in-law is “all consumed” with her daughter’s health and that is all she focuses on and is very neurotic about it. Interesting!! Does this teacher think I’m a downer and all consumed? And I a downer and all consumed?  Personally I do not think it is a bad thing to be all consumed about your child’s health. I also don’t personally think you are necessarily a downer just for talking about it. It’s hard to be a parent of a child with a disease and it’s good to focus on it and be an advocate for them.  I just really think before you make a comment like that about what is going on inside someone’s head you should really think about it and think what it would be like to be in their shoes.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Awesome He doesn’t look sick

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

