Celiac Disease

October 28, 2009 at 8:06 pm 1 comment

As far as diseases go it’s very treatable.  But come on… do we need to add one to the list? I really don’t think so. It’s not definite but we saw the GI doctor today and she thinks Gabe might possibly have Celiac. It’s an autoimmune disease that attacks the stomach and intestines and does not allow the body to absorb carbohydrates/gluten. That is an oversimplified definition and what I learned from reading about it from Google U.  She thinks this is a big possibility for Gabe not gaining weight for many reasons. One is that his kidney function is good so it is most likely not related to his ARPKD.  Another is that he does eat a large amount of food and eats a variety of foods. And then there is the family history of autoimmune stuff in our family – hashimoto’s thyroiditis (mom and sis), rheumatoid arthritis (grandma), gout (dad and brother), positive ANA (me and my nephews – although doesn’t necessarily mean anything but an initial blood test for an autoimmune disease)…..  Then there is the amount of times he goes number 2!!  She also thinks if Gabe has Celiac then there is a strong possibility I have it as well. Of course the family history for me of autoimmune but I also have stomach issues (won’t go into details) and then I just found out I have a Vitamin D deficiency which goes along with Celiac.  And then there is my “pregnant” stomach.  People with Celiac have a distended/bloated belly. Last week a nurse asked me how far along I was.  That made my day!!!!!

So of course in the scheme of things and in the scheme of diseases in our lives I’ll take Celiac. But why can’t it just be easy and be nothing??? And then of course if it is indeed Celiac then we cut Gluten out of our diets. Of course I would do anything to help Gabe but really it’s just a pain to cut out Gluten!! And will just add stress to my life. But that’s what my life is all about these days… stress!!!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Swine…. Awesome

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Julia  |  October 30, 2009 at 1:42 am

    It’s a condition! Let’s just stick with that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

