The Connector

October 3, 2009 at 9:46 am 1 comment

Julia calls me the connector. She says I have some sort of connection with so many people. It’s funny how it works. Matt and I have so many connections, it’s freaky sometimes. I might have blogged about this before but can’t remember. But we met b/c my sister was his brother’s speech therapist. But then we found out that he dated someone in college in Arizona who is the sister of someone I went to college with in Texas. And then we found out a friend of his from growing up went to law school at Stanford with my distant cousin. All weird connections. Last night at temple this woman came up to me whose son goes to the nursery school. We took a parenting class together but don’t know each other that well. It turns out she went to Albany and dated a friend of Matt’s brothers. She was at a U2 concert last week with a bunch of New Rochelle people and someone was talking about one of them living in White Plains near the Karls and this woman from our temple asked if they were talking about me. Such a weird connection. And then there is the pediatric nephrologist who works with the “guru” in the field who I went to college with!

So the purpose of this blog was not necessarily to talk about Matt and my connections but just connections in general. I actually like connecting with people. Something about it makes me feel really good. So a couple of weeks ago I decided to email everyone listed as “walking for ARPKD” through the 2009 Walk for PKD through the Foundation. I wanted to introduce myself and tell them about the ARPKD chapter and how we really want to support everyone as much as possible. And the responses have been overwhelming. So many people have emailed back and shared their stories.  Good stories and some really sad ones too. But hopefully by sharing them they will now be connected with me and Julia and the Foundation and will receive the support they might need. So even though my dad said I should “take a vacation” from PKD I just can’t do that but am honestly happy that I didn’t take a vacation and instead sent out this email and have maybe given someone some hope that they didn’t have the week before surrounding this disease.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

New Year ARPKD Angels

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Julia  |  October 10, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    You are an awesome connector! I’m so glad we connected, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

