The Walk

September 30, 2009 at 8:28 pm 4 comments

Well, my fourth Walk for PKD has come and gone. It was very nice! The weather was perfect and everything went as planned.  My raffle was a success and there were over 200 people at the walk. Kenny the Kidney (kennythekidney.com) even came!!  And Max’s whole soccer team came as well, which was so sweet. They all wore our three peas team shirts and all wore the “I walk for” stickers and wrote “I walk for Max”. It was very touching.  It meant a lot to me that they came. And of course my two really good friends whose names are the same and start with “A” came with their kids. My parents and in laws were there, our nanny, my sister, our really good friend “M” who always comes, and a few other friends as well.  We had close to 30 people on our team again, which was way more than I thought would be there.  And we are almost up to $14,000 which is beyond my dreams for this year. My goal was $18,000 but I am so happy with 14!!! And now it’s wind down time for a little bit, until the next thing.

My dad asked me if I could take a break from PKD now. I was really insulted by this and didn’t know how to respond. My response of course should have been that I can’t take a break from PKD since the boys can’t take a break from having PKD. But I didn’t think about that until after the fact. I might actually tell him I’m upset about it to get it off of my chest.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Emotional New Year

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  September 30, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Wow, I am really in awe of your fundraising efforts. That is really great-it sounds like there was a lot of support for you and the boys there.
    It is also very irritating when people who are close to you-especially family-doesn’t “get” it. It would be nice for our boys to have a day off from kidney failure-wouldn’t it…but maybe he didn’t think of it like that? I don’t know because I don’t know him, but hopefully he just didn’t think of it like we do.
    Hope you are well. It is so much easier to post a comment now. I have tried for a long time-but it was hard to do-wouldn’t let me. Hope you are ok too-been thinking about you.

    Reply
  • 2. Julia  |  September 30, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    I would just say, “I wish I could take a break…but that doesn’t feel right since PKD doesn’t really go away.”

    And let that be that. Some people don’t get it. That’s their problem, not yours.

    Reply
  • 3. Daniel  |  October 1, 2009 at 9:43 am

    On behalf of everyone at PKD Foundation headquarters in Kansas City, thank you. Keep up the great work and inspiring efforts!

    Reply
    • 4. threepeas  |  October 1, 2009 at 3:30 pm

      Thanks! And thank you for all the hard work the Foundation does for our kids and this disease!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

