Over rated

June 7, 2009 at 9:44 pm Leave a comment

This whole work thing is really over rated. If only money didn’t matter and I didn’t really have to work. A part of me is so glad I am able to work and get out a little bit. I am proud of myself for pursuing this career, attending grad school, and working so hard for almost 14 years. But, a bigger part of me wishes I didn’t have to work and could just do the wife and mom thing. I know later in life I’ll look back and appreciate it and it won’t be hard to jump back in if and when I ever want to go back to work full time. But right now it would be nice to not have to worry about it. Not worry about the paperwork aspect, the sadness of the diagnosis of my students, the personalities of the parents, the personalities of my supervisors, the personalities of the mothers at the nursery school, the traveling from student to student, blah blah blah. But, I do like the challenge of it, do feel a sense of accomplishment when someone compliments my teaching skills, and do feel a sense of pride when I finish a report. But in general I really think this whole job thing is over rated!

But really I think I might just be having the Sunday night blues at this point. Once I finish working for the day I do feel good about it. And I am proud when people ask what I do and I say I am a teacher of children who are blind and visually impaired. I was recently talking with someone who has their PhD and works at the college level teaching students to be teachers. I always thought I would get my PhD or EdD in education but now who knows. But I would love to teach at the college level one day. She said I should send her my vitae (I think that’s a resume!) and she will see what adjunct positions are available. That would actually be frightening but really exciting.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

substandard Leaf with a raindrop

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

