Grant Proposal

May 3, 2009 at 11:06 pm Leave a comment

The 7th grade class at my Temple does a mitzvah project every year. They pick a topic (this year is disease in children) and then they have various organizations present grant proposals. Then they vote and pick one or two organizations to give a grant to. Then they do fundraising (not sure how this works). And then that money goes to the organization they pick. So, today I presented my grant proposal. What a formal process. The funny thing is I had no idea how formal it would be. I actually thought I would just send a quick email saying I had 2 kids with ARPKD and then if they picked me then I would just send the money in to the Foundation and it could be tacked on to a research project or something like that. But they actually needed a formal proposal! And thank goodness for the Foundation and the ARPKD advocate there. I don’t know if she would want her name here or not. But I emailed her last week on Monday, talked to her on the phone on Tuesday, and Wednesday she sent me a great grant proposal to do an ARPKD webinar. And then today I presented it to the seventh grade class of about 30 twelve year olds!  I was nervous and talked way too fast but I think I did okay. At least I hope I did okay!  I’m pretty proud of myself either way. And then tomorrow someone is calling me to talk about doing a video on PKD and incorporating ARPKD into it. How exciting! And my awesome friend who has 2 kids with ARPKD emailed me tonight and told me it’s okay to give these women I talk to hope and that I need to give them hope and I need to continue advocating for ARPKD. It made me feel much better. Today was a good ARPKD day.  It sucks we have ARPKD in our lives but since we do today was a good day.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

False Hope Kidney Donation

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

