What’s in a Name

November 11, 2008 at 11:23 pm 1 comment

Matt said something that really touched me today.  He said he wants to talk to our rabbi about getting a Hebrew name.  Matt was raised Catholic and when we got married did not want to convert, which was fine with me. But he did agree to help me raise our children Jewish. And he has been keeping that promise. He comes to all the services with me, takes the boys to Sunday School on Sundays, attends things at Sunday School for parents, helps celebrate all of the holidays, and even made some Mezuzahs for our house and my family’s houses.  About a year ago one of the Rabbis at our temple asked Nate what his Hebrew name was. Then Nate said what’s yours mommy. And then he asked what daddy’s was. I said daddy doesn’t have a Hebrew name because he was not raised Jewish.  The Rabbi then said to me that Matt could take a Hebrew name without converting. He said there is a nice ceremony for it. Then when the boys have their bar mitzvahs and the Rabbi calls out their name in Hebrew they could then say in Hebrew son of (my Hebrew name) and (Matt’s Hebrew name).  I told Matt about it a while ago but he really didn’t comment on it. Then this morning out the blue he said he is going to talk to the Rabbi about it when we have brunch at his house in a few weeks. Max is really good friends with the Rabbi’s daughter and they invited us over in a few weeks.  I got the chills thinking of it because I think when you marry someone of a different religion but try to embrace the religion as much as possible without actually converting and becoming that different religion you really are sacrificing a lot. It really does mean so much to me that he is even considering it.  I thought of a name for him too. Someone recently said that Matan means Gift and I like that one. But really whatever he chooses will be fine.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Bunk Beds Blog Obsessed

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. kidneyeyemomma  |  November 12, 2008 at 1:24 am

    This makes me tear up a little bit. That Matt. Sweetie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

