So much in common

September 26, 2008 at 11:35 pm Leave a comment

I have these two friends who I am so grateful for. One reads this blog and one doesn’t. But what is really interesting to me is how much we have in common and the only reason we met is because we have children with ARPKD. Life is a very funny thing and it is interesting how things are just meant to be. And I truly feel I was meant to be friends with these 2 people. I feel so lucky to have them in my life and really cherish the friendship we have. Unfortunately one lives way too far away but when we talk it’s like we see each other every day (which I wish was true).  I really feel like we have the same values in life, especially now with the election coming up and hearing what others have to say about it.

What spurred me to post this tonight was that I went to my book club dinner tonight and it ended up only being me and two of my friends.  I am actually not too friendly with the rest of the people in the book club for various reasons. One main one is I am so different from them!  But anyway.. tonight we talked a little bit about politics and I asked them who they were voting for. I know… really none of my business, but I like to know these things. And they both said they were both undecided and that they and their husbands together hadn’t decided who to vote for. Now this bothers me on so many levels. One is that I’m going to vote for who I want to regardless of who Matt votes for, although I don’t think I would have married him if we had differing political views. Matt and I really don’t talk politics too much although we have never debated against one another on the subject either.  And two how am I so friendly with these people who have such different political views than I do.  Granted our religions are very different and we were raised in such different ways. But, I just assumed that we agreed on these things.  It just seems strange to me. Of course I will still be friends with them, but it is weird to me. One of them I am very close with and she is so supportive of me and the boys. I guess I need to not ask people who they are voting for, which is what I told Max. I told him it was rude to ask others who they are voting for and that it didn’t matter who our friends vote for because different people believe in different things. I really like to preach don’t I. Maybe I need to practice what I preach.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

It’s raining The Walk

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

