Better than a brain tumor

September 21, 2008 at 8:22 pm 2 comments

I guess anything at this point would be better than a brain tumor but Friday I was diagnosed with Meniere’s Disease. Which by no means is a horrible thing but it does suck. It’s a life long thing that is not necessarily degenerative but can progress and can be slightly debilitating depending upon how bad the vertigo and dizziness get. And I could lose the hearing in one ear and the tinnitus could get worse (right now it’s just a little popping sound). And I really think I have too many “diseases” to worry about right now.

And the best is that the doctor said to me that I need to limit my salt intake (sound familiar??) and “no caffeine, no chocolate, and no alcohol for the rest of your life”. Ha, ha. That is just too funny. The caffeine won’t be impossible, I will miss my glass of wine every few weeks, but I might actually go into withdrawals without chocolate. Who did he really think he was talking to because obviously he didn’t know how much I love chocolate. And I have to go on a diuretic. Me and Gabe!!!  Maybe I’ll lose some weight. Then something good might come out of this.  Of course I might spend all day in the bathroom after taking the diuretic but then I’ll be out of the kitchen away from the chocolate!

And then there’s the whole thing that stress and fatigue may exacerbate the problem. Hmm…. stress… fatigue…me? No way.  Matt keeps telling me to downsize and simplify my life. How can I do that? At least the vertigo is gone and hopefully the dizziness will get better soon.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

One of the many reasons why I love Matt Funny Boy

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bobsayah  |  September 21, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    Hi, Michele. Sorry to hear this news. Matt’s advice is good. It’s OK to put yourself first sometimes. Thanks for all you’ve done to help make yesterday’s walk so great!

    Reply
  • 2. kidneyeyemomma  |  September 22, 2008 at 9:02 am

    I swear. I’m sorry that you have to deal with this. It’s sad when the thing you say a lot is “At least…” because that is what we do too.

    But…I hear white chocolate doesn’t have caffeine. Melony said that is what she let’s Alexis have and Kirsten and I just about fell over because we’d never knew that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

