The Waiting Game

September 17, 2008 at 3:47 pm 1 comment

I haven’t posted this week for a few reasons. The main one is that I had to have an MRI on Monday to rule out an acoustic neuroma. The long and short of it is that because I have had vertigo for over 5 weeks I did this test last week called an ENG. This test showed I had a significant imbalance on the left side of my brain. So my ENT sent me to a neuro-otolygyst the next day, which freaked me out that he wanted me to get in so quickly.  This doctor, who I did like, did a bunch of things with me and said I had 2 things. One being benign proximinal positional vertigo and then something else. He said the imbalance on my left side would not be causing this type of vertigo. He said it could be 25 different things but he kept saying over and over he didn’t want to miss something in a 37 year old woman. So he suggested I get an MRI of the brain to rule out an acoustic neuroma, which is a benign tumor in your inner ear that usually needs to be removed by surgery. To say the least I am freaked out.  I know it could be 25 other things but a brain MRI is a freaky thing. I would think any type of MRI is a freaky thing but this especially right now is. One big reason is that Matt’s brother died from a nasal tumor that went undiagnosed for 6 months. So I am sure you can imagine how Matt is feeling.

The thing is I had the MRI Monday afternoon and still have not heard anything. I have called the doctor two times and the radiology department one time. At noon the radiology dept said they had not read the images yet. At 3:30 the doctors office said the same thing. Here we are at 4:15 with no news.

It’s not like I don’t have a few other things on my mind but this is topping them right now. I cannot concentrate on anything else and have been having a ton of panic attacks in the middle of the night. Last night it was that something really big was falling on me and I couldn’t breath.  Ugh.  

I wasn’t going to post this at all. I was trying to keep it all to myself but here it is. I needed to get it out.  I don’t know what freaks me out more the thought of an acoustic neuroma or the thought of not knowing why I feel like crap and back to square one.  Obviously I would rather not have a tumor in my inner ear but I also would like to know what the hell is up with me. Can stress cause this much vertigo???

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Conference Normal

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. ml18  |  September 17, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Michele,
    I know how anxiety-provoking the waiting can be! I’m so sorry that you have this added worry…I hope that your doctor calls you soon with good news. In the meantime, I just wanted you to know I’m keeping you and your family in my prayers…
    Hugs,
    Marlene

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

