New Pediatrician

September 12, 2008 at 9:39 pm 2 comments

I did it. I really did it! I left my old pediatric practice. It has been a long time coming and I have known I needed to do it, but I was procrastinating. Then Max got strep and we went to our old pediatrician. While there we waited a mere 45 minutes to see one of two doctors I really don’t like (the 2 I do like were not in that day). Then the nurse was nasty to me. I asked her to take Max’s b/p because we are still regulating it with his new dose of medication. I didn’t explain all of that to her just said “can you please take his b/p”. She got really snippy and said “I’m really busy right now, you will have to wait”. Then proceeded to go into the hallway and have a short personal conversation with another nurse. Argh!! I didn’t know how to respond to that.  But, I was pissed. They brought us into the exam room so I felt I could ask to have his b/p taken. It’s not like we were in the waiting room.

Max was on the antibiotic for 10 days for strep and then 2 days later was sick again. We again went to the old pediatrician because I still hadn’t changed to the new one. This time we waited only 30 minutes. While there I told the doctor (the one I like the most) that I wasn’t happy. And he said “what happened now”. See, I knew I needed to leave. 

So, I finally did it! A few weeks ago I went over to the new office and filled out the form to have our records transferred over. So we are officially out of the old and kind of into the new one. And after doing that one of the head doctors (whose known Matt his whole life) walked by our house and didn’t even stop. Amazing!

And today was the first visit with the new one to have Gabe’s staples taken out. And guess what? I didn’t wait at all. I was in and out of there within 30 minutes and even talked to the doctor for a little bit. I think she asked me more questions about Gabe’s health then most of the doctors at the old practice ever did. It was very refreshing! We have a 2.5 year old check up with her next week so we’ll see how that one goes, but so far so good!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The “poor” Polar Bears Good visit

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kidneyeyemomma  |  September 13, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Well, alrighty then.

    I’m glad you changed. I had to do that too because our ped used as a back up the doc WHO CALLED ME ON THE PHONE with Quinn’s diagnosis while we were packing to leave the hospital.

    There are best and worst of each profession.

    Reply
  • 2. bobsayah  |  September 13, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    Good deal, Michele. There are plenty of good doctor’s out there, so it isn’t worth sticking with a lousy one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

