Stupid Comments, #4,500,272 and counting

September 10, 2008 at 10:45 pm 1 comment

This was an email I received today (the names have been changed although not really for the sake of the innocent just me being nice):

“As much as I wish we could contribute thousands we can’t.  In the last 6 months we’ve done a lot of fund raising ourselves as well contributing.  We’re feeling a little bit tight especially as we head into husband’s(name inserted here in email) business venture of opening a private school.  I apologize but we’ll have to skip this event but will look for the next opportunity!  I hope you understand.”

What really irks me about this is that I just contributed to not one but two of those fundraising events they were talking about. And I know it’s not a tit for a tat but come on. First of all I didn’t ask for thousands. Even 10 dollars is a great donation. But the fact that within the last six months I donated first $50 to a walk they were doing and then another $25 to a fundraiser their daughter’s school was having in her honor and then they have the nerve to write that. And do you even respond to that? There are some REALLY generous people out there and then there are some people who are just weird. I do understand everyone is in a different financial bracket and not everyone can always donate. But to me I just feel like this is a big way to support me the one time a year I ask for money for the walk. And really it doesn’t matter the monetary amount just the support I receive.  But, Matt always tells me I cannot get angry when people don’t donate. Hmm… I’ll have to work on that.  My anger that is.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Walk Update The “poor” Polar Bears

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. kidneyeyemomma  |  September 12, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    People! I’m with you…it is somewhat tit for tat, when you had recently donated to them. Really, 10 or 20 dollars can’t have broken them, right?

    And say you really can’t donate…fine. Maybe come out and walk with us, or offer to send a note to some other people in a circle that you aren’t in.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

