Stupid Comments

September 6, 2008 at 11:33 pm 1 comment

Here we go again. Today I was at the boys’ school setting up a luncheon for the teachers. One of the parents of another child was there who I have spoken to in the past. She is a nutritionist and we had talked a little bit about kidney friendly diets.  Today I asked her about Aduki (spelling??) beans because my nutritionist told me about them. She said “oh you must have been doing some research on chinese medicine and kidneys”. Then she went on to tell me the importance of the kidneys and how in asian medicines they focus so much more on the health of the kidney whereas in the “western world” we don’t. She then went on to say how in America they don’t understand how important the kidney is and if they did they would never do kidney transplants. I thought maybe I had misunderstood her. I asked was she talking about for the donor or recipient and she said both. I said I didn’t understand. And she said if the doctors knew more and were concerned with their patients then they would never do transplants because it is so unhealthy and then made a comment on how she would never have a transplant. And then I said (of course I did) “except if you were donating one of your kidneys to your child”. She kind of got this funny look on her face and said “Oh”. I then said some people, my children included, will eventually go into kidney failure and then will have no other choice then to have a kidney transplant. The conversation tapered off soon after that.

The thing I don’t understand is why people insist on making comments when in truth they really shouldn’t and really know nothing about the particular situation. Like recently when my primary care doctor made a comment on how easy kidney transplants are to do these days. Well who really cares how easy they are to do. I would rather my children not need one even if they are “easy” to do.  I really hate when people throw out misinformation.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Third Times a Charm School days

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. kidneyeyemomma  |  September 8, 2008 at 12:35 am

    People.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

