Proud of myself

August 26, 2008 at 2:38 am 3 comments

I’m proud of myself that I learned how to take the boys’ blood pressure with a manual cuff. It is not the hardest thing in the world to learn but also not the easiest for a lay person. I should have been a nurse. Ha! But, seriously I am glad that I learned. I have been a little bit lax about taking it lately but did take it tonight. Max’s was good and Gabe’s was slightly high but he was moving around a lot. That’s the problem with the manual cuff is that when they move it messes it up and sometimes it is just so hard to hear. I honestly don’t think the nurses at our old pediatrician’s office always heard the right thing as fast as they did it. There were a couple in particular who did it so fast and got really low numbers that I think they just missed the top number, which is so frustrating to me. They don’t take b/p’s that often that they should have been doing it that fast. They just couldn’t get an accurate number like that.

But it does make me feel more in control of the situation to be able to monitor it on my own. And it’s just one more way I am advocating for them. So that makes me feel better too.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Salamanders Bad doctors

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kidneyeyemomma  |  August 26, 2008 at 3:47 am

    Yay! Momma!

    It is so good to be able to do it at home!

    Reply
  • 2. pkdmom  |  August 26, 2008 at 6:03 am

    Great job! We had a terrible time with our automatic bp machine we started using the manual. My son and I are both on meds now. Thankfully my daughter is not here yet.

    http://www.pkdmom2five.blogspot.com

    Reply
  • 3. pkdmom  |  August 26, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    Michelle,

    Thanks for stopping by and visiting. I use blogspot.com On there I am given the option to add a video clip to my sidebar. The PKD video clip came from youtube.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

