Hudson Valley Renegades

August 18, 2008 at 1:06 am Leave a comment

Today we went to the Hudson Valley Renegades Game. They are a minor league baseball team that play 60 miles from here in Dutchess County. Bob from the Hudson Valley Chapter of the PKD Foundation organized this game as a fundraiser. The tickets were $20 and we got a general admission ticket to the game, a HV Renegade hat, and a hotdog. $10 of that went to our chapter. Bob sold 41 tickets, which I think was a great fundraiser for him.  Not too many people from our chapter came and none of my friends responded, but Bob did sell the other tickets.  But, while sitting there I had this overwhelming feeling of sadness. Sadness that we needed to be at this kind of fundraiser and sadness that we have this disease in our life.  

But the beating sun and crowded stands quickly helped me get past my pity party. And after the lady next to me yelled at me to move down even though there was no room, after almost fainting from the heat, and after only 3 innings we left. It was just way to friggin hot out there! I don’t know how people do it week after week. Call it unsportsmanship or whatever you like but I hate the heat. Not to mention the boys can get dehydrated pretty quickly. Matt said the next game we go to should be basketball in an air conditioned venue!

I am glad I went. I am glad that Bob set this up. I am glad to be a part of this chapter, even though I wish I didn’t have to be.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Family Jinx Happy 36th Birthday Matt

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

