Sleep Away Camp

August 7, 2008 at 7:08 pm Leave a comment

Last weekend we went to look at sleep away camps for Max. Wow! Crazy that we are even considering it. Max sure has come a long way. But, the thought of it really scares me. I talked to another mom today who sends her child to this particular one and she also happens to be the camp doctor for a few weeks. And her daughter happens to have type 1 diabetes. So she really could relate to a lot of my fears.  She really did reassure me that the medical aspect at this point will not be a problem. Max is only on one medication twice a day and has no other restrictions. The real fear I have is his bed wetting issue and how to handle that. 

The fact that I even need to worry about things other than him just being homesick really frustrates me and actually depresses me. As usual it just brings it all back up to the surface. Not like it was buried deep or anything.  But, I’m just cranky this week and that might be one of the reasons why.  As I’ve said before it could be worse, but it could be a whole lot better. Like Max and Gabe could be healthy.  That’s a thought isn’t it.  I am now going off on a tangent from sleep away camps to long term things. But, my thoughts are that most people just assume that a kidney transplant will solve Max’s problems. What they don’t realize is that he will be on medications for the rest of his life. He will always have the liver in the picture with the fear of problems arising from that and a possible liver transplant. Until the kidney transplant we are always worrying about his blood pressure and when his kidneys will fail. And then after the transplant we will always worry about rejection, the need for another transplant, so many medications…..

This started as my fear of sleep away camps and ended with my fear of so many other things.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Nutrition Walk Update

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

