Nutrition

August 7, 2008 at 12:20 am 1 comment

About three months ago I started seeing a nutritionist.  My whole life my weight has been a struggle. I have had a lot of ups and downs with it.  Right now it is a major up and not up in the positive way. I decided to see a nutritionist in the hopes this would help. So far so good with me eating healthier but definitely not down with the weight category. The main problem I see is that I don’t exercise. For a while I had been going to curves and doing really well with it, but then it just didn’t fit into my schedule. Not to mention I am just exhausted at the end of the day and am not in the mood to exercise. Hence the weight gain. The main concerns I have with this is that three people have asked me if I am pregnant within the last six months. I think that is a really obnoxious thing to ask someone except if you know for sure they are. I am still trying to come up with a witty response for that one but really haven’t yet.  My nutritionist has been helpful and does have some useful ideas but has been talking to me about going gluten free, which I am not sure I want to do nor am ready to do. I have a weird stomach, or bad I should say, or possibly irritable if you know what I mean. Her prediction is that by going gluten free it will help. What frustrated me was that she said to me “Don’t you want to feel better?”. Well, no actually I love feeling like crap, and I love having a screwy stomach, and I love having to sometimes rush home for the bathroom, and I love not being able to eat certain things that I know will make it worse. And, honestly I just don’t want to feel better. Hello!!!!  It’s not that I don’t want to feel better it’s just that taking gluten out of my diet really doesn’t seem realistic to me and actually seems like it might be quite time consuming.  I think she does mean well but it came out all in the wrong way. Once I start working out (hopefully soon) then I’ll let you know how it goes with working out and doing the nutritionist’s recommendations.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Memory Sleep Away Camp

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. ml18  |  August 7, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    I recently found your blog and just wanted you to know that I can relate so well to many of your entries and actually feel that I could have written some of them myself! I am pretty new to PKD. My now 18 year old daughter was diagnosed with it last year during her junior year of high school. Before that, I had never even heard of it! As if that wasn’t enough, six months later my husband was also diagnosed. Although I’m doing better now, it’s definitely been very difficult for me. My daughter is starting college in a few weeks and thankfully she is doing fine. I’m trying to take everything one day at a time and I’m trying not to anticipate future problems. It’s been a year and a half since my daughter was diagnosed and I spent so much of that time waiting for the other shoe to fall. I’m trying hard not to do that. I’ve also become more involved with the PKD foundation. Hopefully with all the medical progress being made there will be treatments to stop the progress of PKD (both the dominant and the recessive types) very soon. If you ever want to talk, feel free to email me at:
    malky@thelorens.com
    In the meantime, I just wanted you to know that you are not alone!
    Hugs,
    Marlene

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

