Why I need a new pediatrician

June 28, 2008 at 3:09 am Leave a comment

I hate change. I really do. Which is one reason why I don’t want to find a new pediatrician, but I know I have to. These are just some of the many comments I have heard from my practice over the last year or so alone.

“Do you want this to be a kidney thing? If not then let’s drop it”. When I asked why Nate is often wet during the day.

“You take his blood pressure but not his temperature?” When I told the doctor about a mild fever Max had that I hadn’t taken with a thermometer.

“Remind me is this the kidney lung guy”. When I called in to talk about Gabe having the croup.

“Just go to the ER” click. When I called in about Gabe falling and gashing his head on the radiator. No follow up calls after that.

“It’s his face you want it to be perfect, don’t you?”. When I called in about 4 weeks after the last stitches incident to ask if I needed to go to the ER again. It was 5:15 PM and I had 5 boys at my house and was home alone.

Reasons why I should leave:

1. Wait time averages 45 minutes to an hour

2. Long appointments. You see the doctor and then when the nurse comes in to do the shots the doctor goes to see another patient. Then you have to wait until he finishes with the other patient before you have your wrap up.

3. No follow up calls, ever.

4. No communication between the doctors.

5. One file folder with all three boys papers in it, all mixed up together.

6. No email, like Dr Weiss (my awesome nephrologist) has

7. I have to remind them to do blood pressure checks.

8. Half the nurses suck at doing the blood pressure checks.

9. I really only want to see one out of the now 4 doctors and sometimes he isn’t the best either.

10. One of the five doctors left and they are not replacing him and are still accepting new patients.

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Crazy Car Service Driver Can’t get past it

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

